A Chain Across the Dawn (The Universe After)

We rated this book:


Drew Williams’ A Chain Across the Dawn is a thrilling and fun space opera set a few years after the events of his first book The Stars now Unclaimed. Esa and Jane, the main protagonists, are on a war-torn planet tasked with rescuing gifted children with special powers. They rescue one such child, Sho, who uses his telekinetic powers to turn on fusion reactors. However, Sho is hunted by more nefarious actors who plan to use him for their own evil purposes. Before you know it, Esa, Jane, and Sho are all in the villains’ cross-hairs and must put aside their disagreements and use their wits to defeat the bad guys.

Like the first book, A Chain Across the Dawn is a military space opera full of action, explosions, intrigue, and machinations. The characters are very likable, multidimensional, and well-developed and it’s easy for the reader to commiserate with them. The plot is very fast-paced, convoluted, and thought-provoking. It’s evident that Williams is a great storyteller through the well-flowing prose that keeps the reader hooked until the last page. If you are a fan of thought-provoking space operas and military sci-fi with lots of explosions, A Chain Across the Dawn and The Stars Now Unclaimed will be perfect for you.

Reviewed By:

Author Drew Williams
Star Count 5/5
Format Trade
Page Count 320 pages
Publisher Tor Books
Publish Date 2019-05-07
ISBN 9781250186164
Bookshop.org Buy this Book
Issue November 2019
Category Science Fiction & Fantasy


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “A Chain Across the Dawn (The Universe After)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *